Welcome 2016!

by Amy M.

We’re getting back in the groove after a fantastic holiday break with friends and family!  We are blessed beyond measure!  We had a blast on our travels, and the kids are SO much better on car trips now.  It makes our hearts full to be among our beloved people.  Christmas day itself was rather eventful–more on that in an upcoming post.

We also enjoyed some relaxation time during the week after Christmas.  The weather was cold and rainy, so we had excellent pajama/cuddle days. I’m realizing that Jimmy and I are moving past the baby phase of our parenthood journey, but the kids have been going to bed at 8:00 and waking up at 9:00 (no nap/totally worth it).  And then I’m less sad to be moving past babyhood.  I actually feel well-rested for the first time in a LONG time.  Can’t you tell?!  I’m actually blogging!

It’s fascinating to learn more about the kids’ personalities as they are able to verbalize their thoughts.  Jed is already beginning to speak in complete sentences, and Eliza sounds like a little grownup most of the time.  I do have to pay close attention to the dialogue in some of her favorite movies.  For example, she loves the Tim Burton version of Alice in Wonderland, but today while I was washing dishes, she quietly walked up next to me and said, “Imbeciles.”  Not sure if she realizes that’s an insult, but it definitely caught me off guard!  She spent a large part of the afternoon searching for rabbit holes in the backyard today, which was adorable.

Speaking of blogging–I’m starting back up with the Q & A topics that I began last year.  I’m going to try my best to stick with it!  Or maybe I’m just in the mood because I actually have energy right now.  Nevertheless, here goes:

Q:  What is your mission?
A:  
A good question to begin the New Year.  My mission is to celebrate life and express gratitude every single day!  The older I get, the faster the years go by.  I can’t make time slow down, but I can be thankful for all that I’ve received, and I can give to others in return.  This is definitely the example that I would like to set for my children.

2015 was quite a memorable year, and we look forward to seeing what’s in store for this new year.

Below, I included a few of the wonderful pics my dad captured.  I have many more pics to post, so stay tuned!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA