Summer is already kicking my behind!

by Amy M.

Sorry, no pics today!

But this is really accurate:
sensors
from The Honest Toddler

Our summer schedule is beginning to materialize.  So far, it goes something like this:
9:00-11:30:  Go on an outing/have a playdate.  
This adventure CANNOT extend beyond 11:30 because Jed falls asleep in my arms and Eliza falls apart.  I learned this at library music/storytime today (they otherwise had an awesome time; Eliza danced and sang her little heart out).  Seems pretty straightforward, but it’s important to consider the amount of work involved in getting them fed, dressed, packed, and out the door.  This is usually our only outing of the day, so I like to maximize it!  Also, this is the time (during Jimmy’s workweek) when I’m likeliest to have face-to-face conversations with other people over the ages of 1 and 2.
11:30-2:00:  Lunch/nap.
A time of chores and bliss.
2:00-7:00:
ETERNITY.  And dinner.

Tell me, those who are experienced:  What do you do to fill that 2:00-5:30 time?  The kids aren’t as jolly as they are during the first half of the day, it’s really hot outside, and I can’t seem to find an activity to keep them occupied for more than 4 minutes at a time.  We don’t usually do playdates during that time because other toddlers’ nap schedules don’t necessarily coincide, and errands are out of the question.  The kids mostly amuse themselves by bossing me around and making huge messes.  I’m trying very hard to keep screen time to a minimum (like only while I’m making dinner).  Any suggestions?  Eliza is great at playing independently, but she gets jealous when I try to do anything one-on-one with Jed.  I’m sure we’ll fall into a groove eventually, but today was kinda rough.

That being said, I have two things to celebrate:
-Eliza continues to do really well with potty training (score!).
-I did some careful planning and smart shopping, and spent nearly half of what I usually spend for a week’s worth of groceries.  This is a big deal for me–budgeting is one of my biggest weaknesses!  So I’m pretty proud of myself 🙂
I know this particular season of life is tricky because the little darlings are only 1 and 2 years old, and it will pass quickly.  I guess the moral of the story is that summer involves lots of work and creativity with two toddlers!