Stomach bug :-(

by Amy M.

I forgot to mention last night in the excitement of Jed’s walking, but we have been besieged by a stomach bug for the past few days.  Jimmy and I are mentally and physically exhausted, to say the least! Dealing with sickness and sleeplessness really tests your parenting mettle, that’s for sure!  (I’m sure you seasoned parents are thinking, Ha!  You cannot begin to imagine the tests that await you, young grasshopper!)  

Another unfortunate byproduct of illness is that we are stuck at home until it passes.  Boy howdy, do we get stir-crazy when we can’t leave the house for a couple of days!

Speaking of leaving the house–today was the most convenient time for me to go to the grocery store while Jimmy stayed home with the kids.  Guess what’s really fun?!  Meal planning and grocery shopping with a queasy stomach 🙂

Eliza’s tummy has been in revolt, but she is otherwise happy and energetic.  She’s doing much better, but she still can’t tolerate milk.  Seems simple–don’t give her milk, right?  Well….milk is the first thing she asks for when she wakes up in the morning.  And woe betide the household if this request isn’t granted.

So.  much.  screaming.

Jed has experienced similar symptoms, but he also seems to be doing better.  Let’s hope for a good night!  I’m very thankful that it’s only a stomach bug and not a serious illness.  But I still reserve the right to complain about it.

Today’s topic (how apropos):

How many times did you curse today?

I may have said “damn” a couple (million) times.  It’s been one of those days.  I can and will forgive myself while I pray that Eliza didn’t notice.