Book review!

by Amy M.

Poor little Eliza!  She couldn’t sleep last night because her nose was completely stopped up.  Either I’m no good at using the nasal aspirator, or it doesn’t work at all, so she and I slept in the recliner.  Neither of us experienced a good night’s sleep, that’s for sure.  Tonight we’ve slightly inclined her mattress and turned on the humidifier.  Hope that helps!

DSC02808 DSC02810

Ok so I’ve written another book review…please indulge me!  Gotta keep the ol’ mind sharp during these mommyhood days:)

 ocean lane

I saw the world I had walked since my birth and I understood how fragile it was, that the reality was a thin layer of icing on a great dark birthday cake writhing with grubs and nightmares and hunger.

-Neil Gaiman, The Ocean at the End of the Lane

My love affair with Neil Gaiman began when I saw a preview for the film Coraline.  A creepy, stop-motion animation movie for children?  Count me in!  When I learned the movie was based upon a novel for young adults, I devoured the book in one sitting.  The novel was brilliant, and so was the film.  Gaiman has a wonderful knack for revealing a story from a child’s point of view.  He fleshes out his characters while keeping the plot fast-paced and intriguing–a talent few authors seem to have these days.

I’ve just completed The Ocean at the End of the Lane, Gaiman’s latest offering for adults (although the style seems much the same as that of his young adult novels).  The adult narrator, who has returned to his hometown for a funeral, feels compelled to visit a peculiar location near his childhood home.  Upon arrival, he finds himself adrift in a harrowing memory from his childhood.  The narrator then reveals the story through his seven-year-old self, which sets the action and intrigue into motion.  At this point, it becomes virtually impossible to put the book down.  I won’t give away any more plot details, as the novel is only 259 pages long.  Read it yourself!

Gaiman has a way of wrapping complicated ideas into seamless, flowing prose.  He uses words and phrases judiciously, and never forces more upon the reader than necessary.  This isn’t exactly a ghost story, but it does contain vivid elements of the supernatural unlike anything you’ve encountered in literature before.  Gaiman scoops you up and takes you on a wild ride, that’s for sure.

Since we’re discussing Gaiman, I feel the need to link to one of my favorite poems of all time.  Hope you love it as much as I do!

Instructions by Neil Gaiman